(Photo by Jason Halstead/Getty Images)

Las Vegas–Tonight the Vegas Golden Knights took part in their first ever ESPYS Award show in franchise history in Los Angeles as they were up for three awards.

The three award nominations that the Golden Knights were up for tonight at the “2018 ESPYS” were for Best Moment, Best Play, and Best NHL Player.

For the Best Moment nod it was for punching their ticket to the Stanley Cup Finals by beating the Winnipeg Jets in the Western Conference Finals.

However, it would not be so for them as the NFL’s Minnesota Vikings took that award with their defeating the New Orleans Saints in the NFC Championship game.

It’s actually not a total loss on behalf of the Golden Knights because with advancing to the Stanley Cup Final they captured their first ever “Clarence S. Campbell Bowl”, something that is way better in comparison than that of an ESPY Award.

(Photo by Vegas Golden Knights)

Later in the night, Golden Knights top line center William Karlsson was up for the Best Play for his performance of scoring the Pacific Division clinching goal between his legs on San Jose Sharks goaltender Martin Jones while Vegas was shorthanded.

His 42nd marker was a “Goal Of The Year” contender for the 2017-18 season.

It would be Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale that won the award for Best Play by hitting the 2nd buzzer beater basket to clinch the 2018 NCAA women’s national title.

But for Karlsson last month at the 2018 NHL Awards, he took home the Lady Byng Trophy for his incredible first season with the Golden Knights that was highlighted by two hat tricks and a 43 goal campaign.

The Lady Byng Trophy by any comparison to an ESPY nomination is something that Karlsson would like more for his NHL career cupboards.

(Photo by Getty Images)

For their the third nomination of the night, Goaltender Marc-Andr√© Fleury was faced with some heavy competition tonight with the NHL’s Best Player ESPY Award nod against former Pittsburgh Penguins teammate Sidney Crosby, Edmonton Oilers Connor McDavid, and 2018 Stanley Cup Champion Alexander Oveckhin.

That award would go to 2018 Stanley Cup Champion Ovechkin who earlier in the night took home another award for Best Male Athlete. Ovechkin become the first ever NHL player in the 25 year history of the ESPYS to win such honor.

(Photo by Getty Images)

If Fleury would have won this award, it would have been his first ever individual award of his professional sports career. In the NHL, he has never won the Vezina or Williams Jennings Trophy, nor the Hart. Throughout his 14 year career in the NHL, Fleury was nominated for the Hart twice and Vezina three times.

With losing out at the “2018 ESPYS” tonight, the Golden Knights still have something to be extremely proud of with their Jack Adams Award (Head Coach Gerard Gallant), GM Of The Year Award (George Mphee), Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award (Deryk Engelland), and Lady Byng (Karlsson).

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/VegasKOTR

Leave a Reply